xpra icon
Bug tracker and wiki

Opened 4 years ago

Closed 4 years ago

#1058 closed defect (worksforme)

Can't connect from windows

Reported by: retog Owned by: retog
Priority: major Milestone: 0.16
Component: client Version: trunk
Keywords: Cc:

Description

While I can connect to my Xpra server without problem from linux computers I can't connect from windows. After a while I get a dialog titled "PuTTY Fatal Error" with the text "Server unexpectedly closed network connection". On the console I see:

15 20:05:57,911 xpra gtk2 client version 0.15.9 (r11346)
15 20:09:12,220 unexpected message: WM_MOVE / 0 / 1703939
15 20:09:12,267 unexpected message: WM_SIZE / 0 / 33555052
15 20:51:21,111 unexpected message: WM_SIZE / 0 / 77531014
15 22:14:27,628 unexpected message: WM_SIZE / 0 / 33555052
16 08:59:57,282 WM_TIMECHANGE: time change event: 0 / 0
16 10:20:43,124 unexpected message: WM_SIZE / 0 / 77531014
16 10:20:48,848 unexpected message: 49884 / 1 / 644910132
16 10:20:49,365 unexpected message: 49455 / 94 / 9840
16 10:20:56,795 unexpected message: 49455 / 80 / 0
16 10:20:56,799 unexpected message: 49455 / 80 / 0
16 10:20:56,852 unexpected message: 49455 / 80 / 0
16 10:24:50,506 unexpected message: WM_SIZE / 0 / 33555052
16 11:07:15,667 unexpected message: WM_SIZE / 0 / 72286828
16 11:19:21,000 unexpected message: WM_SIZE / 0 / 49218566
16 11:19:21,216 unexpected message: WM_SIZE / 0 / 33620588

Settings:

  • I'm connecting via ssh, the server is lisetning on port 2020
  • It never asks to accept the server certificate
  • I have neither installed PuTTY nor an X-Server on windows

Change History (2)

comment:1 Changed 4 years ago by Antoine Martin

Owner: changed from Antoine Martin to retog

If your SSH server is on a non standard port, you need to tweak your command lines to use it. Something like: Xpra_cmd.exe attach ssh/HOST:PORT/DISPLAY

Please include the command lines you used.


I have neither installed PuTTY nor an X-Server on windows


Those are not needed, Xpra bundles a version of putty and does not use an X11 server client side.

comment:2 Changed 4 years ago by retog

Resolution: worksforme
Status: newclosed

Thanks. It turns out it works by updating the xpra version on the server

Note: See TracTickets for help on using tickets.